What is a Food Allergy and a Food Allergy Test?

Healthy foods can still be trigger foods for allergies!! We discover which foods, herbs or spices are feeding your food allergy (Food Allergy or Food Sensitivity Test screens for 184 or 96 food items, please click this link for detail information)

A latest research in August 2016 conducted by the National Center for Child Health and Development, Tokyo, Japan states that Infants who suffered from eczema within the first 4 months after birth were found to have a higher risk of developing food allergy at 3-year-old. In Hong Kong, parents tend to perform a food allergy test on their baby as early as possible in order to prevent exaggeration of the eczema and other allergic symptoms.

Reference:

Shoda T, Futamura M, Yang L, Yamamoto-Hanada K, Narita M, Saito H, Ohya Y.  (2016 ) Timing of eczema onset and risk of food allergy at 3 years of age: A hospital-based prospective birth cohort study.  J Dermatol Sci. 2016 Aug 2. pii: S0923-1811(16)30177-3. doi: 10.1016/j.jdermsci.2016.08.003.


What is food allergy ?

  • Food allergy is built-in biochemical reactions to certain naturally occurring substances (e.g. food) in the environment.  The substances that cause allergic reactions are called allergens
  • Any food can be an allergen, particularly as we age, as well as when we eat excessively of one food type. When our immune system over-produces antibodies (Immunoglobulins) to fight against these allergens, the biochemical reaction causes inflammation and associated allergic symptoms
  • Numerous unidentified, chronic and recurrent symptoms are highly related to food allergy

Who suffers from allergies ?

  • Almost everyone has suffered unexpectedly from allergic symptoms, including skin rashes, diarrhea, headaches, irritable bowels, stuffy and runny noses or varieties of common uncomfortable symptoms.  If we include the less dramatic symptoms like occasional anxiety, joint stiffness, water retention, dark circles etc. It is estimated that at least one-quarter of the world’s population is living with avoidable allergies

What factors can trigger allergies ?

  • Heavy metal exposure, food additives, imbalanced diets, stress, genetic predisposition, infections, inflammation, drugs, environmental pollutants and toxins are all possible factors to trigger allergies

How can we help ?

  • Although there is no cure for food allergies, serious health consequences can be prevented through early recognition, strict avoidance of food allergens and effective management of the reactions when they occur
  • To achieve early recognition of your body’s food intolerances, Mineralysis Food Allergy Test is now available to measure 96 (up to 184) food allergens from one simple prick of the finger.  We can test some unique healthy foods like chia seed, fig, pine nut and some herbs (such as ginseng and licorice). The actual levels of antibody can be precisely measured against these individual allergens. The test will help you to understand what you need to omit or add to your diet to minimize allergic reactions

Food Allergies can trigger the following symptoms chronically:

Affected Organs

Possible Symptoms

Digestive System

Vomiting, Nausea, Diarrhea, Irritable Bowel Syndrome, Constipation, Gas Bloating

Skin

Acne, Skin Rash, Eczema, Urticaria, Flushing/hot flashes, Hair loss, Itching

Brain

Chronic Fatigue, Autism, Anxiety, Depression, Poor Balance, Learning Disabilities, Attention deficit, Hyperactivity

Head and Neck

Dark Circles, Ear Infections, Ringing in the Ears (Tinnitus), Recurrent Sinusitis, Migraines Headaches, Excessive mucous, Sore Throat, Mouth Sores

Lung

Bronchitis, Breathing Difficulty, Shortness of breath, Asthma, Chest Pain

Mind and Emotion

Poor Concentration, Poor Memory, Mood Swings, Irritability, Anxiety, Depression

Joints and muscles

Chronic Pain, Joint Stiffness

Others

Anal-Genital Itching, Water Retention, Recurrent Infection, Irregular Heart Beats


Two Major Types of Allergic Reactions: 

1. Immediate Allergic Reactions:
Quick and dramatic symptoms:
Immediate allergic reaction involves excessive production of IgE antibody (a type of detrimental protein) by the immune system. Symptoms occur instantly or within an hour after eating the problematic food.
Comparatively easy to identify:
Avoidance of the problematic food source is necessary as the symptoms are acute such as: Rashes, Swelling, Difficulty breathing, increase heart speed.

2. Delayed Allergic Reactions:
The symptoms are less obvious: 
It is often considered as a "hidden allergy", the reaction can occurs up to several hours or days after eating the problematic food, so the symptoms are more difficult to identify.
Comparatively difficult to identify: 
Chronic unidentified delayed allergic reactions trigger inflammation, resulting in discomfort in multiple parts of the body. Symptoms of a delayed food allergy can take up to 72 hours to appear. Such detrimental immune response is caused by the IgG antibody, which is more abundant than the IgE antibody, that is why it is more meaningful to test for it.

什么是食物过敏及食物过敏检测?
 

健康的食物也能引致食物过敏? 我们会为你找出致敏原因 (食物敏感测试化验项目分为184或96种食物,可以按本连结了解)

日本国立儿童健康医疗与发育研究中心在2016年8月最新的医学研究指出如果婴儿出生后1-4个月内已出湿疹(BB湿疹),他们在3岁时会有较大机会患上食物过敏。在香港, 不少家长会尽早为BB做食物过敏测试,免得婴儿因吃了致敏食物令湿疹及其他过敏问题更严重。

参考资料: 
Shoda T, Futamura M, Yang L, Yamamoto-Hanada K, Narita M, Saito H, Ohya Y.  (2016 ) Timing of eczema onset and risk of food allergy at 3 years of age: A hospital-based prospective birth cohort study.  J Dermatol Sci. 2016 Aug 2. pii: S0923-1811(16)30177-3. doi: 10.1016/j.jdermsci.2016.08.003.


什么是食物过敏呢?

  • 过敏反应是与生俱来对外来物质(如食物)的异常免疫反应。任何能引起过敏反应的食物都称为致敏原 

  • 随着年龄及长期进食某种食物,该种食物的致敏程度亦会随改变。当免疫系统对某种食物大量产生抗体引起不同地方发炎或过敏症状
  • 許多不明原因慢性及反覆發生的症狀都與食物過敏息息相關

谁受过敏之苦?

  • 大部份人都经历过莫名其妙的过敏症状,例如皮肤出疹、腹泻、头痛、消化不良、肠胃胀气、鼻塞及鼻水等常见的不适症状。如果把一些常见的轻微不适症状: 如间中焦虑、关节疆硬、水肿及黑眼圈也计算在内,全球最少四分之一人口受食物过敏困扰

甚么因素能促进过敏反应?

  • 重金属中毒、食物添加剂、偏食、压力、遗传、长期感染、发炎、药物、环境污染物及毒素(如发泡胶食物器皿中释放出来的毒素)都能够促进身体出现过敏反应

我们可以怎样帮助你?

  • 虽然食物过敏不能完全根治,但预防胜于治疗。只要及早发现什么食物引起过敏,你便能准确地避免进食致敏食物,也不用作出多余的戒口,再配合为你专人而设的交替饮食指引,便能有效地预防种种过敏征状

  • Mineralysis化验所采用了准确度最高的酶联免疫吸附法– ELISA作为食物过敏源检测的化验基础去检测引致过敏的食物,当中包括亚洲或环球食物、除了日常食品之外,更可以化验一些独特的健康食品如奇异籽、无花果、松子和中草药等

食物过敏的征状

受影响部位

症状

消化系统

呕吐、恶心作呕、腹泻、肠易激综合症、肠胃痉挛(抽筋)或是、肠胃敏感、肠胃痉挛(抽筋)、便秘、肠胃胀气

皮肤

暗疮、粉刺、皮肤出疹、湿疹、荨麻疹、皮肤发红发热、痕痒、脱发

脑部

长期慢性疲劳、自闭、平衡能力变差、学习障碍、过度活跃

头颈部位

黑眼圈、耳朵感染、耳鸣、鼻窦炎、偏头痛、多痰、喉咙痛、口腔溃疡

肺部

气管炎、呼吸困难、气促、气喘、哮喘、胸痛

智力及情绪

专注力不足、记忆力衰退、情绪不稳、烦躁、焦虑、忧郁

关节及肌肉

长期疼痛、关节疆硬

其他

腹股沟肛门瘙痒、水肿、经常受感染、心律不齐

 

过敏反应主要分为两大类:
1. 急性过敏反应:
征状明显易见:
急性过敏主要是因为免疫系统在辨别出致敏食物之后大量制造免疫球蛋白E(IgE)抗体 (一种引起急性发炎的物质)。征状一般在接触致敏食物后数分钟至一小时内发生。
较容易察觉:
由于征状明显,例如呼吸困难、气管收窄、血压下降、皮肤严重的痕痒及红肿等都能实时察觉,只是避免进食相关致敏食物便可以预防急性食物过敏。

2. 慢性过敏反应:
征状不明显: 
慢性食物过敏也可以称为延迟性过敏反应,主要是因为免疫系统在辨别出致敏食物之后大量制造免疫球蛋白G (IgG)抗体 (一种引起慢性发炎的物质)。其征状一般在致敏食物后的数小时至数天后发生。
较难察觉: 
由于慢性食物过敏的征状可以在接触致敏食物72小时后才出现,而且征状多样化,患者难以自知。患者身体长时间产生大量IgG抗体令身体不同地方长期处于发 炎状态,可以令不同器官受累。由于慢性食物过敏是由IgG引起,而且血液中的IgG水平远比IgE高,这解释了为何测试IgG水平去根治食物过敏会更有意义。